Book Review, Uncategorized

Shopping for a Billionaire – Julia Kent

Title: Shopping for a Billionaire #1
Author: Julia Kent
Publish Date: June 2, 2014
Publisher: Not Listed
Part of a Series: Serial Read
Pages: 125
Received a Copy From: Amazon Verified Purchase
Buy Links: Amazon ♥ Barnes & Noble
Blurb:
When mystery shopper Shannon Jacoby meets billionaire Declan McCormick with her hand down a toilet in the men’s room of one of his stores, it’s love at first flush in this hilarious new romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Julia Kent.

romanceComedy

 

reviewgraphic

“Toilet Girl!”

Here I was doing my Friday Five Review when I happened upon Shopping for a Billionaire by Julia Kent. I didn’t even include it in my short reviews of the first 5%, but after posting my blog entry I decided I would give it a try.

I was instantly captivated by the humor. I liked Shannon Jacoby from the beginning. The way Julia portrayed the main character, Shannon, is exactly how I feel as a boss/manager/leader. She was rushed, hurried, and not at all put together. I feel like her outward appearance represented what our inward appearance usually is.

The chemistry between Shannon and Declan is fun and refreshing. I thought this would be one of those mini smut stories… turns out it isn’t at all. In fact, there isn’t any sex to be had.

If I could change one thing, it would be the amount of analogies or references. There are a lot. That is really the only bad thing I can say.

My favorite analogy however:
“Steve was the dependable, rusty lawnmower in the garage. You weren’t riding it anywhere special, but it would start up every spring just like you came to expect it to, and it would always be there. Until it wasn’t anymore.”

Disclaimer: This is a serial read. This means it is very short 125 pages. To get the rest of the series you purchase more books that are along the same number of pages and a few are double that. This can add up. BUT! There is a boxed set for books 1-5. Or you can jump all in and buy the 12 book series.
Boxed Set 1-5 AmazonBarnes & Noble
Boxed Set 1-12 Amazon

Books 1-5, 6, 8, 11 feature mainly Shannon and Declan.
Books 7, 9, 12 feature mainly Amanda and Andrew. (Amanda is the BFF, Andrew is the brother)
Book 10 looks to feature Suzanne and Gerald. (I’m not sure where they come from at present. But I haven’t read the rest of the series yet either.)

My Rating:
4

The humor is hands down the best I have read in a long time. I do wish that the books were longer (Novel or Novella length) so that there were less, but I would get more of the story at one time. If you are a fan of comedy and are good without the sex, this book is for you.

chat

What are some Novels featuring a lot of humor that you have read?

signature

Leave a Reply

